The Learning Tools: History Cards

Time Period Cards

300-900 AD

Primal-Religious, Animistic, Polytheistic

Monarchical Government (1810-1838)

His Majesty King Kamehameha I founded the Hawaiian Islands' monarchical system of government in 1810. Without legislative enactments, the Hawaiian Kingdom was administered until 1838 on a common law system that was partly based on the kapu (taboo) and the customs of the great Chiefs that had been passed down by tradition.
Learn More

Constitutional Form of Government (c. 1839)

King Kamehameha III created a constitution recognizing three divisions of a civilized monarchy (the King as the Chief Executive, the Legislature, and the Judiciary) to protect and acknowledge the rights already declared by the 1839 Declaration of Rights.
Learn More

An Independent State Under International Law (1843 - 1887)

In 1882, the Hawaiian Kingdom joined the Universal Postal Union, a specialized agency of the United Nations.
By 1883, the Hawaiian Kingdom established 3 extensive treaties with the US (1849 Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation; 1875 Commercial Treaty of Reciprocity; and 1883 Convention Concerning the Exchange of Money Order) By 1893, the Hawaiian Kingdom had over 90 Legations and Consulates across the world.
Learn More

The Bayonet Constitution (1887)

King Kamehameha I: Pa‘iea

Anti-monarchists created the Bayonet Constitution (1887) to be signed by King Kalākaua using force. The Bayonet Constitution deprived the Hawaiian monarchy of most of its power and transferred power to American and European elites.
Learn More

We welcome your feedback on the History Cards


(c. 1540-1634)

Kākuhihewa is the 15th aliʻi ‘aimoku (ruling chief) of O‘ahu famously named in the mele “Kaulana Nā Pua.” Kākuhihewa was a kind and friendly chief who was born in Kūkaniloko and raised in the ‘Ewa moku. His primary endeavor was farming, and it is said that his abundant harvests on O‘ahu could be smelled from Kaua‘i.

Today, there is a state office building named after him in Kapolei.